I- Inquiry call… ?

letter-iI am sure that each of you who read this will remember a time that you were juggling cooking dinner, irony laundry, running a bath when phone rings. It will be some one important, a family member, friend or possibly work. You rush to answer leaving in your wake a boiling pots or bubbling bath suds to be asked “Is possible to speak to Mrs Home-owner?” How fluffed off are you at this point? “It is just a quick inquiry call today to regarding…” The purpose of this call cannot be of interest to you can it, I am certain like so many others you see this as an imposition, an invasion of your home.

Do you take a breath, exercise your varied and colourful vocabulary and slam down the receiver?
Are you one of the more creative protestors, who will listen and question then demand how this invasion has been implicated? Or do you inform your interrupter that the person they need to speak to is in the other room, place the handset on the side and continue with the task at hand ignoring the faint calls of “hello” till you know they have disconnected at their end. I should inform you that these options have been brought to you from experience; I worked in a hell-centre.

For those of you who are familiar with my April posts themed in appreciation thanks and gratitude as part of the A to Z challenge, you might be wondering why I would be grateful for such things as interruptions by unsolicited callers. Well I am not, but it has been some time since I had to hit targets of seven a shift, to sell opportunities that I wouldn’t want to take, to talk to people who loathed me invading their home via telephonic means and yes I am thankful that I escaped the hell-centre never to return.

Today I am thankful for caller ID, I am pleased to say that I am registered with T.P.S  but mostly I am grateful of the experience gained from those hours at the work station, where discussions with colleges was forbidden, tedious hours were spent repeatedly being told what to say for those days they did pay the rent.

I had a call this morning, mid snooze I answered without a second thought, “Good morning” the caller chirped in that tone that signifies they have been calling people for the last 3 hours with no positive outcomes. “Could I just speak to …?” Oh my reply was firm but fair, most of all it was effective.

“I am pleased to say it is she speaking, though I recommend this call is ended forthwith for my number is registered with the telephone preference service calls to this number can result in fines of up to £5000.”  I appreciated her hasty apology and with that the call was disconnected.

2 responses to “I- Inquiry call… ?

  1. My response is usually “Darling, if I was interested, I’d be calling you.” Now, if I could just get solicitors to stop knocking on my door! UGH.

Leave a Reply

