Reflection, Reserch and Rabbit Pies!

letter-r
Reflection has played a massive part of my posts on the theme of gratitude. Looking back over my life so far has given me a great deal to smile over. Reflecting on past joys should not detract from the right now, indeed memories should inform our happiness and guide us through experience to future smiles. Right now is the most important moment, we can plan for our futures celebrate our past but we must ensure that the moment we are in is the best it can be. Being grateful for the moment we are in is not always possible but even in the difficult situations we can always see good.

Right now I am greatful for rabbit pies, not something you would expect from the average pescetarian. Research was not required for I pulled out the old tried and tested recipe popped the top on a bottle of cider and stewed two bunnies with onion, carrots, herbs and mustard seeds until the flesh fell off the bone then rolled out short crust for the bases and puff pastry for the tops- “Simples” as the meerkats say. I made these little “Bright eyed pies” for a local charity fund-raiser and they went down a storm, the first pie variety to sell out and guess what, when the results were called yes you guessed it my pies were announced the winner.
rabbitpie

People choose not to eat meat for various reasons, I am not a card-carrying, preaching carrot cruncher and I never will be. I choose not to eat meat because I find it upsets my digestion, I do not think that affordable, ethical meat is readily available and after the best part of ten year not eating it I don’t miss it, I don’t hanker after it, in fact I just don’t want to eat it. I respect the choice of those choose to eat meat along with those who choose not to, I hope that they respect my choice too.

When I presented my Rabbit pies, much discussion was had over my diet. I found myself almost defending my choice to a certain party. Now I know that I did not research before the fact so here is the post-mortem as to why carnivores in Britain should perhaps look at Wild Rabbit as an option if they are going to choose to eat meat. Three reasons to consider Rabbit.

1. There are an estimated 38 million rabbits in the UK and rising. (Guess what they breed like rabbits)
2. Collectively they cause approximately £100 million pounds worth of damage to crops each year. (If I hazard an educated guess there that will push up vegetable prices so everyone including the vegetarians will suffer as a consequence)

3. These animals are truly free range and never have to suffer the trauma of the slaughter house. Death for the rabbit might not be nice but it is swift.

So for those of you who have only met me through the blog posts you might be surprised by my offering for the local charity pie off. Yes this vegetarian presented rabbit pies and WON! Right now I am grateful for the rabbit pies, for the money that has been raised for local charities, Rabbit was not my only entry I also made a Mushroom and Stilton pie selection, but I knew I was catering for carnivorous. Recipe for Rabbit Pie will be posted once I have learned a little more about wordpress, I want to have a part of my blog that will be used to share recipes – so more research required.

7 responses to “Reflection, Reserch and Rabbit Pies!

  1. Very good article. We all need to reflect more often. 🙂
    #1227
    A to Z Blogging Challenge
    http://mauldinfamily1.wordpress.com/2013/04/20/r-is-for-rope/

  2. Rabbit pies sound pretty interesting. I’ve always wanted to cook rabbit, and never been organised enough to.

  3. Reflection is something we must take time to do. If not we will never realize how blessed we truly are.

  4. The problem is we live in a busy world, busy lives mean that we run from one task to another, from job to job it can feel like you don’t even get time to breath. Taking time to reflect seems like a luxury until you do… then you know it is a requirement

  5. Reflection – what a perfect R word. Love it.

    And the rabbit pies. Hmm – never had rabbit. But I see your point – I didn’t realize that rabbits were rampant over there. Maybe they are here, too. But many people are reluctant to eat rabbit. Enjoyed reading the post!

Leave a Reply

